12 Days

Posted on Updated on

Twelve – the number of men who’ve walked on Earth’s moon
Twelve – the number of studio albums the band The Beatles released
In English, twelve is the number of greatest magnitude that has just one syllable
It’s also the number of days it takes for someone to realise
Their fate is inextricably intertwined with another soul
At least that’s true for me
I don’t know how I made it from day one to eleven
Coz day twelve was a different kind of hell
What’s even more significant is the manner
In which this awful streak was broken

The day after the twelfth day
There you were, by the road side unaware that I was approaching
The second our eyes met for the first time in twelve days
You wore that toothy grin you bring out only on occasion
– such are moments on which my world turns
In that moment I said to myselfd
I can deal with nine, ten, eleven days
But may twelve days never come between us again

Leave a Reply

